Urban Decay

Not much to report today except i had an altercation in the bookshop when i tried to hide two Rachel Ray books under a pile of cardboard. It wasn’t my fault, I swear, I walked into the bookstore all cheerful planning to buy Khaled Hosseini’s new book at 30% off when i was confronted by her grinning visage as I entered. To make matters worse they had placed her next to Bourdain’s new book..something had to be done. At any rate no charges were pressed and I managed to get them to move her book away from Bourdain’s as I convinced them it would affect his sales. Interestingly, my Fodor’s Caribbean 2008 book was only 3 feet away from his book..so I was quite chuffed.

I managed to survive another trip to the drugstore without too much financial damage today as well. I enjoyed asking the girl at the makeup counter to help me find my perfect match though, this being Toronto, she didn;t seem to surprised at the request. I eventually mentioned that it had to be able to hold up to studio lights which, along with me not shopping for dazzle eyeshadow may have  removed any fleeting thoughts she might have had. She was a pretty Indian girl and I have noticed a lot more Indians in the city this time around. I guess it is inevitable as India exerts its powerful presence around the world. Much of the software we use…well Windows users use…is created by Indian engineers and the cultural and technological influence of India is increasing rapidly.

What I also found interesting, and I realize this is subjective, is that the best looking people I have seen here..both male and female..have been Indian. It may be that my tastes have adjusted to Trinidad standards..but I don’t think so. There is something about that combination of aquiline features, jet black hair and almond eyes that makes people look good. Also the fact that they are not usually obese helps too.

Tomorrow is my penultimate day in TO and I am suspecting I will have to spend Midnight with Victor at a redneck place called Billy Bob’s replete with peanut shells on the floor. If you know me at all..you know that is not my normal milieu. I am sure I will survive as I always do. Right now my thoughts are for my friends and ieTV colleagues to enjoy the last day of 2007 and that we all have a wonderfully unpredictable 2008. Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose.

shapeimage_1-210.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

