Archive for January 1st, 2008

January 1, 2008

Farewell Tundra

As the song says, my bags are packed and I’m ready to go. Unlike the song, however, I am not mysteriously standing in front of anyone’s door and have no plan to wake anyone up to say goodbye. I awoke this morning nursing the same headache I had since yesterday afternoon and confronted by 15 cms of snow lying on the ground. Winter wonderland my ass!. It seems to not have affected my flight though as I guess Toronto Pearson is used to such piffling inconveniences as snow.

Last night is a bit of a blur as I ended up at the Billy Bob’s with Victor. I have never seen so much trailer park in one place before. The edge was greatly softened by our bartender pal Romy who seemed determined to get us drunk by plying us with quantities of alcohol normally reserved for embalming medium sized mammals. As fast as a drink was finished it magically refilled and the occasional Black Sambuca appeared as punctuation marks in the proceedings. At the end of this shameless excess and me going Karen Walker on several people who jostled me -  the bill was presented showing the amount owed as $38. God bless Romy for proving that sufficient alcoholic lubrication can make even extras from the Jerry Springer Show look like furry toys. I cast roaming charges to the wind at midnight T&T time as I attempted to call most of my friends. Thanks to TSTT and Digicel in Omar’s case not one call got through. At least I tried.I ended up back home ( apparently on foot) and that was the beginning of 2008 for me.

Today was a lazy day which I mainly spent tidying up my room and trying to get things into my suitcase. I managed to chat briefly with Omar online and even longer with Astrid. Speaking of Iggy she has restarted her blog and it very much her. Funny, cynical, introspective, irreverent and yet totally charming – it is basically Iggy in a nutshell. Omar has since been MIA but I am sure he will resurface soon enough having partied with the turtles last night.

Shortly Vic will ( apparently) drive me to the airport through snow covered streets and -13 degree temperatures, I will sigh and put up with the annoyances of checking in, then I will board the plane and chew nicorette for 5 hours until I get back to civilization as i know it. Sad to leave family but it is a part of life and my other family awaits.

shapeimage_1-4.jpg

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers