Jahajin Arrives

 

After much gnashing on teeth across several oceans the hard copies of Peggy’s book were finally located by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and I now have them at home with me. I think the story is magical and layered but there was something in me that longed to actually hold the word in my hand. Funny how a digitally inclined  person like me can still feel the need for actual paper. This is not the first time this urge has happened to me and I cannot count the number of times I have clicked on that Amazon “one click” button to get a copy of a book that I have lost somewhere in the lending labyrinth. Even stranger. just as is the case with Peggy’s book, I sometimes have a digital copy of a book and have the need to possess a physical copy. My most recent obsession in that regard was a book of poems by Mallarme that i felt i could not live properly without having it on my shelf. human nature is a strange thing and I truly apologize to Al Gore for causing another tree assassination.

 

In any case now that i have my physical copy of Jahajin ( and a number of other copies I have to distribute) I think I may well sit down and reread it with my feet propped up on the couch. Say what you will about digital editions but propping a laptop or even..God help them..a Kindle..is not the same thing as flipping a page or holding a book against your chest as you ponder the words just read.

 

Off to bed now as I have a marathon day of interviews tomorrow including a Minister, an activist and an actor. Let’s hope i don’t get the questions or the approaches mixed up.

 

One Comment to “Jahajin Arrives”

  1. Just finished reading Peggy Mohan’s book ‘JAHAJIN”. As an expat Indian I have always been curious about the Indian diaspora, especially those Indians who landed up in far flung places like the West Indies, and retained their language and culture over generations despite separation from their ‘home’ country. Thank you, Peggy for a beautifully written book. I have bought half a dozen copies to distribute to all my friends from Trinidad who now live in the US. Does Peggy have website?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

