Archive for June 9th, 2008

June 9, 2008

Why me?

 

I am enough of a Mac addict to admit that I have, for far too many years, been glued to the annual  Apple Worldwide Developers Conference to hear the latest announcements from the mothership. Today, however, the revelations about the latest developments from Steve left me shaking my head. The iPhone is great and lovely and I still don’t want one – making it the first Apple product ever I have not had any interest in buying. This may not seem like much of a declaration but keep in mind I still own an Apple Quicktake camera and two Newtons. The startling thing for me was the announcement that .Mac which is what I use to host one of my blogs and where much of my digital life is firmly planted is about to be  replaced by “MobileMe”. I don’t know what drugs Stevie is taking but I don’t want any part of them.

 

I have paid for my .Mac service for many years and, while I admit it is overpriced, I enjoy the geek value of having a dot mac email address and having all my Macs synchronized. If I change a bookmark on one or add a contact Lo and behold the others reflect the change. Apparently, Apple thinks I really want a globewriter at ME.com address. Nope, I don’t. It really is not all about “me”. I understand I will be allowed to keep the original @ mac.com address but I pity all the poor fools who have to now  accept a  joeschmo@me.com address. Why on earth would Apple think that was a cool email address to have? I love the fact that when I give people my email address they always say “ I love Macs they are so cool” or things similar – what are they supposed to say now – “I am really glad you love yourself”?. I can assure Apple that when I am also assigned ( as apparently I will be shortly) a globewriter @ me.com address I will only use it to post replies on strange boards I don’t care about. Note to Apple…. it is not all about me…that generation is over. I am also sobbing about the announcement that iCards will soon be no more. I have sent Apple iCards to everyone I care about and loved the fact they were not full of flash animations and annoying musical numbers. I suspect I will miss iCards the most.

 

In response to Ursula’s comment on my previous entry suggesting I should be more careful what I write because this is ( no denying it) a small country I feel I should spend a few words. I am not from the sort of family that is easily cowed by those in authority. My Mother is a writer and once lost her job at a newspaper because she wrote something that annoyed a Prime Minister. My biological  father  continues to disparage those in authority on the air and my Stepdad, who I adore, could not be kept silent by anyone. Freedom of speech is, to me, the most important liberty imaginable. I would lay down my life for two things only – my friends and family and my right to speak freely. If it ever reached the point I had to give up my freedom for my freedom of speech I would do so gladly. I am a journalist but I am also a rebel ( is there much of a difference?) so I will continue to speak out when I need to. I am intelligent enough to separate the two. When I produce or present news my personal views are of no importance but as a human I have views so to pretend otherwise is folly and I will continue to state the obvious in my blog and in my other writing arenas. If it gets me in trouble I am prepared to face the consequences. To co-opt the AIDS slogan of the 90s – Silence=Death.

When people stayed silent about Auschwitz then or Darfur now they are complicit in genocide – I refuse to stay silent.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers