Andrew in Drag and K2K Carnival (Trinidad & Tobago)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Completely disjointed ( though perhaps not) post tonight.  First off, I have been filling in for another manager at the TV station ( in addition to my writing and my normal TV job)  for the last 29 days without a day off and I am working till 8pm every day. I still have 10 more days before I can get a day off  so you can imagine my mood.  Today that mood changed when,out of the blue I got a FB message from someone I interview on a regular basis who asked  why I hadn’t contacted her in a while and to let me know that there was a  Carnival costume waiting for me at the K2K Mas Camp.

I need to put this into perspective.  Carnival is a big deal in T&T, the biggest party/festival of the year.  I used to like it but it lost its artistic roots for me once Peter Minshall ( now a friend)  stopped designing beautiful costumes that had a message and the thing turned into little more than an all-inclusive  party on the move with bikinis and beads. Then last year I saw a new band appear with the most beautiful costumes I had seen in years – K2K. Fashion and Carnival merged into a display of  gorgeousness that had me Facebooking and Tweeting the  band.

If all works out  I will be spending Carnival on the road with the most beautiful  band in years and I cannot guarantee I will not do my runway walk on the streets of Port of Spain.

If you want to see the amazing K2K presentation for Carnival 2012 – click here.

When you think about it, Carnival is really about being in drag for a day. Which segues nicely to my next bit. Just saw this  cool video and excellent song  posted by Randy Roberts Potts on Facebook . The Magnetic Fields – Andrew in Drag.

I love it!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

