‘Moses Melkonian’ – We Are Mighty, We Are Young.

Every now and then the internet tosses up a little surprise in front of me  and today was one of those days. I noticed that someone had liked a post I put up here and they also had a blog so as is polite in the blogosphere I checked the blog out.  The last posting was a music video of him singing a totally funky song called ‘We Are Mighty, We Are Young”. I adore the song and  what a voice.

Here’s the song.

Apparently , according to an interview  with Steezy Street the song was inspired by the Occupy Movement which makes perfect sense. It also gives some of the only background I have been able to find on the performer.

I’ve been making music since I was a kid. My dad (Vartan Melkonian) is a composer and conductor of classical music… I remember being taken out of class to go and watch him record with the Royal Philharmonic in Abbey Road Studios… I had no idea how cool that was… I was just like “that’s loud!” I remember he put me in one of the booths to record whatever I wanted… I decided to play congas over his whole symphony without a bars rest! ha.

So I was learning piano at that time, but I stopped my lessons to pick up drums. I then began playing in many bands rock, jazz and avant-garde then guitar then bass… During this time my musical influences were ever growing and I never stopped composing at the piano… This is the first time I’ve been able to take all my influences, J-Dilla to Bach, and put them into one record.

The artist has a number of  other performances on YouTube including this one in which he starts by explaining that his real name is Richard Melkonian and he has chosen his grandfather’s name to honor him.

So far I have enjoyed all of his performances on YouTube  which you can search for yourself or try just clicking here.  You can also support this breath-of-fresh-air artist by  picking  up the ‘We Are Mighty, We Are Young’ single on iTunes here.

Leave a Reply

