Woodpigeon – For Paolo

Just discovered this newly released ( Video went up on the 26th of December) cover single by Woodpigeon from the album ‘For Paolo’. A beautiful track and really atmospheric video.

From the digital ‘For Paolo’ EP, released January 2012.

“My own growing up in Canada was marked with annual family holidays involving the long drive from Point A to Point B – particularly far for us, given our home city of Calgary right in the middle of the beautiful never-ending golden expanse that is the Prairies. My parents were always the type to find an artist and album they liked and then listen to it non-stop in the car for years. It’s these tapes which, whether I liked them at the time or not, formed an undeniable part of my musical DNA: Carole King, Falco, a truck-stop Hits of the 1960s compilation.

The songs of the For Paolo EP are a valentine of sorts to those old cassettes of my parents – I’d like to think there’s more than just a dash of Fleetwood Mac’s Tango in the Night in the title track, a little bit of girly one-hit wonder in ‘One To Many’. But then again, whenever I think I’m getting pretty close at sounding one way, I’m the only one who hears it – so you’ll have to excuse the thought that there’s a little bit of Boys Don’t Cry’s ‘I Wanna Be a Cowboy’ and Iron Butterfly mixed in here somewhere too.” – MAH

Footage edited by MAH. Public Domain.

There is something about the song that totally captivated me and a little Googling ( and the Huffington Post) paid off with some background to singer Mark Hamilton  and the song.

I’m releasing a new EP of music titled For Paolo, and the title track is a love song I wrote for my Viennese boyfriend. He calls me the colloquial “schatzi,” so to his embarrassment I put it in the chorus. If there’s something to do that he thinks is important, he tells me that I “better should,” so that’s in there, too. He’d like me to believe he’s the shy type and that having his name in the title of a song (never mind as the title of a full EP’s worth of music) is a struggle for him, but I can tell he’s more than a little chuffed about it. “How dare he say anything about my song,” he told me last night, when a friend who hates pet names said he liked the song except for what he considered an overuse of “schatzi.”

The explanation was part of an interesting article Mark Hamilton wrote for the HP called “What It Means to Write a Gay Love Song” which is well worth a read.

Leave a Reply

