Chicago Archbishop Sorta apologizes

A develoment, whatever it means.

Chicago Archbishop Cardinal Francis George just apologized for comparing the LGBT community to the Ku Klux Klan.”I am truly sorry for the hurt my remarks have caused,” George said in an interview with the Chicago Tribune. “Particularly because we all have friends or family members who are gay and lesbian. This has evidently wounded a good number of people.  I have family members myself who are gay and lesbian, so it’s part of our lives. So I’m sorry for the hurt. When I was talking I was speaking out of fear that I have for the church’s liberty and I was reaching for an analogy which was very inappropriate for which I’m sorry. I didn’t realize the impact of what I was saying…Sometimes fear is a bad motivation.”

While we called for Cardinal George’s resignation, we think remorse is a positive step in the right direction. It is gratifying to see the Cardinal take personal responsibility for the hurt he has caused and we hope this incident leads to improving relations with the LGBT community.

Truth Wins Out would like to thank our readers for signing our petition (5,400 people signed) that called on Cardinal George to resign. We are also grateful to those who contributed financially to help us place a full-page ad in last Sunday’s Chicago Tribune headlined, “Hey, Cardinal Francis George, Gay is not like the KKK.” This ad played a critical role because it kept the controversy — thus the public pressure — alive during the holidays.
When we work together, we can create lasting change and achieve real progress.

Thank You,

Wayne Besen
Founder, Truth Wins Out

Leave a Reply

